Surviving earthquakes, fires and war, the Toshogu shrine in Ueno is one of the oldest buildings in Tokyo, constructed in 1627 and remodelled in 1651by Tokugawa Iemitsu, the third Shogun. The first, Tokugawa Ieyasu, united the country and created the Edo Bakufu, or military government, then promptly retired two years later in 1605. For the next 11 years he was the power behind the scenes from his retirement in Shizuoka and, on his death, was proclaimed a deity, Toshogu or ‘the Eastern Light’. He was then enshrined in Nikko. On the funeral procession to Nikko from Shizuoka, minature versions of the grand shrine in Nikko were later built at the various stops along the way, comemmorating the Toshogu and proclaiming the power of the Bakufu.
This is the main shrine:
From inside towards the main gate:
The shrine is well-known for its craftsmanship:
Front gate with 5-story pagoda in the background:
Red lanterns in the shrine: